Announcement

User registrations are currently disabled due to high spam traffic.

#1 22/08/08 2:48am

Breakeraj
Addict
Registered: 19/02/08
Posts: 240

Add intellegence to Enemys?

I am trying to make a platformer game and i've looked around for a tutorial on how to add intellegence to an enemy. I want the enemy to follow the player around.Could someone help me with that?Please i've searched alot for tutorials.

Offline

 

#2 22/08/08 3:08am

crimsonhotsun
Hardcore Member
Registered: 30/03/08
Posts: 96

Re: Add intellegence to Enemys?

if(pl._x<enemy._x){
enemy._x--;
}
else if(pl._x>enemy._x){
enemy._x++;
}
if(pl._y>enemy._y){
enemy.jumping=true;
enemy.gravity=-5;
}


Figure it out...


[img]http://img101.imageshack.us/img101/9094/20707804nc6.png[/img]

My humble forums: [url=http://hologram.zxq.net/forums/]VirtualWorldForums[/url]

Offline

 

#3 22/08/08 2:38pm

joker
Lord o' Pancakes
From: Wyoming, Wisconsin, U.S.A.
Registered: 02/07/08
Posts: 1337
Website

Re: Add intellegence to Enemys?

nice example chs i would have put
Enemy follow character. OR DIE!!!!


[b]OBEY[/b]


MINECRAFT. Hit me up if you wanna play [:

Offline

 

#4 22/08/08 8:38pm

Breakeraj
Addict
Registered: 19/02/08
Posts: 240

Re: Add intellegence to Enemys?

crimsonhotsun wrote:

if(pl._x<enemy._x){
enemy._x--;
}
else if(pl._x>enemy._x){
enemy._x++;
}
if(pl._y>enemy._y){
enemy.jumping=true;
enemy.gravity=-5;
}


Figure it out...

Ok i tried that and nothing really happened.So i rename the "pl" to player?
Then what should i do with the code?

Offline

 

#5 23/08/08 12:48am

crimsonhotsun
Hardcore Member
Registered: 30/03/08
Posts: 96

Re: Add intellegence to Enemys?

Put a sprite on the screen named "enemy". Then put the pl on the screen. Add this:

if(enemy.jumping){
enemy._y+=enemy.gravity;
enemy.gravity-=1;
if(enemy._y>=ground._y){
enemy.jumping=false;
enemy._y=ground._y;
}
}


put the whole thing in this:


enemy.onEnterFrame=function(){
//put all the code here
}

make sure all this code is on the stage, or it won't work.


You should do simpler tutorials to learn more about flash, your knowledge (I don't mean to insult) seems small concerning flash.

Last edited by crimsonhotsun (23/08/08 12:49am)


[img]http://img101.imageshack.us/img101/9094/20707804nc6.png[/img]

My humble forums: [url=http://hologram.zxq.net/forums/]VirtualWorldForums[/url]

Offline

 

#6 23/08/08 2:58am

Breakeraj
Addict
Registered: 19/02/08
Posts: 240

Re: Add intellegence to Enemys?

crimsonhotsun wrote:

Put a sprite on the screen named "enemy". Then put the pl on the screen. Add this:

if(enemy.jumping){
enemy._y+=enemy.gravity;
enemy.gravity-=1;
if(enemy._y>=ground._y){
enemy.jumping=false;
enemy._y=ground._y;
}
}


put the whole thing in this:


enemy.onEnterFrame=function(){
//put all the code here
}

make sure all this code is on the stage, or it won't work.


You should do simpler tutorials to learn more about flash, your knowledge (I don't mean to insult) seems small concerning flash.

Thanks.I'll try that out later.But i've been trying lots of tutorials i found but im really not that good at flash.

Offline

 

#7 23/08/08 3:00am

crimsonhotsun
Hardcore Member
Registered: 30/03/08
Posts: 96

Re: Add intellegence to Enemys?

Nobody starts out good at flash. I didn't even know what actionscript was. It's taken me 2 years to learn but no one can tell me I don't know now. Practice and dedication make a good programmer. Just keep trying. It'll come to you.


[img]http://img101.imageshack.us/img101/9094/20707804nc6.png[/img]

My humble forums: [url=http://hologram.zxq.net/forums/]VirtualWorldForums[/url]

Offline

 

#8 23/08/08 3:10am

joker
Lord o' Pancakes
From: Wyoming, Wisconsin, U.S.A.
Registered: 02/07/08
Posts: 1337
Website

Re: Add intellegence to Enemys?

bah i started out good i learned as in a month and i can code in 1337


[b]OBEY[/b]


MINECRAFT. Hit me up if you wanna play [:

Offline

 

#9 24/08/08 2:47pm

nothing
Moderator
Registered: 21/03/08
Posts: 389

Re: Add intellegence to Enemys?

Lol 1337 isn't a programming language...tongue


[url=http://pspflashgaming.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=1078]BioShock[/url] PSP|fPS-Factor Released|[url=http://www.p22server.hostwq.net/index.html]p22 Center[/url]

I'm starting p22 again.

Offline

 

#10 24/08/08 7:29pm

joker
Lord o' Pancakes
From: Wyoming, Wisconsin, U.S.A.
Registered: 02/07/08
Posts: 1337
Website

Re: Add intellegence to Enemys?

thats how raw i am tongue


[b]OBEY[/b]


MINECRAFT. Hit me up if you wanna play [:

Offline

 

#11 25/08/08 12:18am

nothing
Moderator
Registered: 21/03/08
Posts: 389

Re: Add intellegence to Enemys?

lol


[url=http://pspflashgaming.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=1078]BioShock[/url] PSP|fPS-Factor Released|[url=http://www.p22server.hostwq.net/index.html]p22 Center[/url]

I'm starting p22 again.

Offline

 

#12 25/08/08 12:34pm

rollinroll
Moderator
Registered: 23/10/06
Posts: 1890

Re: Add intellegence to Enemys?

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by PunBB
© Copyright 2002–2005 Rickard Andersson